Back to home page   What's on   All events  
To mark the centenary of Lithuanian and Armenian Independence

To mark the centenary of Lithuanian and Armenian Independence

2018 May 24, Thursday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
To mark the centenary of Lithuanian and Armenian Independence

ARAM KHACHATURIAN – Concerto for violin and orchestra in D minor
ALAN HOVHANESS – Symphony No. 21 Etchmiadzin, Op. 234
MAURICE RAVEL – Piano Concerto No. 1 in G major

2018 is a momentous year of centenary of Independence for Lithuania and several other countries including Armenia. To mark this memorable anniversary the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society hosts Armenian symphonic music concert in which Maestro Robertas Šervenikas will lead the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra and Armenian soloists – violinist Sergey Khachatryan and pianist Luisine Khachatryan. 

The concert programme offers two compositions written in context of the WWII: Aram Khachaturian’s Violin Concerto (1940, dedicated to the legendary violin virtuoso David Oistrakh), Alexander Harutiunian’s Festive Overture (1949), and also Symphony No 21 (1970) by Alan Hovhaness, an extremely productive symphonist – he composed 67 symphonies, while his manuscripts contain over 70 symphonic sketches!

The evening will be crowned by Ravel’s Piano Concerto representing the late creative period of the French impressionist. The opus reveals a hint of new music and a resonance of the journey to the USA, namely jazz flavour.

Concert organised in collaboration with Embassy of  the Republic of Armenia

Sponsors: Armenian union of Lithuania and „Plento Grill & Wine“

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: