Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Rhythm of the Americas and Four Saxophones

Rhythm of the Americas and Four Saxophones

2017 December 16, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
(artistic director and principal conductor Modestas Pitrėnas)
Soloists – SIGNUM Saxophone Quartet:
Rhythm of the Americas and Four Saxophones

OSVALDAS BALAKAUSKAS – Symphony No. 5 (to mark the composer’s 80th anniversary)
BOB MINTZER – Rhythm of the Americas for saxophone quartet and orchestra

Tonight the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra led by Maestro Modestas Pitrėnas marks the 80th anniversary of Osvaldas Balakauskas and offers his Fifth Symphony. This Lithuanian composer has been at the pinnacle of modern Lithuanian music since the mid-1960s, as well as being one of is most remarkable composers and leading authorities. Balakauskas has had a great influence on several generations of composers: in the beginning because of the spell cast by his music, and later also as a teacher of the secrets of composition. 

Tonight the Lithuanian musicians will share the stage with Signum saxophone quartet, already familiar to Lithuanian audience. Their energy, vibrancy and innovative ideas have been filling the European concert halls and festivals with refreshing changes. Be it Carnegie Hall in New York or snowy peaks of the Dolomites the joy of experimentation is always Signum’s company: four young musicians are at home in both classical quartet repertoire and their own arrangements of well-known opuses offering inspiring soundscapes. Performing with ease and most often by heart Signum enriches their concerts with movement and instrumental theatre elements.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: