Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  


2017 November 30, Thursday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
HUGO TICCIATI (violin, leader)
JULIAN ARP (cello)
Soloist EVELYN GLENNIE (percussion)

ÁSKEL MÁSSON – Frum for percussion
HENRY PURCELL – Chaconne in G minor with improvisations
EVELYN GLENNIE – Light in Darkness
LEOŠ JANÁČEK – String quartet No. 1 (Kreutzer)
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Große Fuge in B-flat major, Op. 133
JAMES TENNEY – Having Never Written a Note for Percussion
ARVO PÄRT – Dona Nobis Pacem
ALBERT SCHNELZER – Apollonian Dances

“The O/Modernt String Quartet explored the emotions of Janáček’s first stringquartet with a raw spontaneity that proved that tones are worth a thousand words.”

Dagens Nyheter, Sweden

The Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society presents a recently (last year) formed modern ensemble O/Modernt String Quartett led by violinist Hugo Ticciati who was described by composer Arvo Pärt as having a rare ability to project the depth of music. Named like the festival Ticciati formed, the collective innovatively fuses early and contemporary music. Aiming to overstep the limits of quartet genre, the four musicians aspire to discover yet unknown potentials of quartet music. They willingly collaborate with musicians of diverse tailoring such as percussionist Evelyn Glennie, choreographer Marc Brew, Brazilian dancer Ederson Rodrigues Xavier, DJ Jeff Mills to name a few. 

Four musicians who delight in redefining classical parameters by unravelling multiple strands of quartet playing and reweaving them into fresh and original musical textures. Julian Arp (cello), Gareth Lubbe (viola), Daniel Rowland and Hugo Ticciati (violins) have known each other for many years, making music in various formations at festivals across Europe. In February 2016 at Musikaliska, Stockholm, all four musicians performed together for the first time as an ensemble and the O/Modernt String Quartet was born. The quartet combines old and new music in innovative and daring ways, cultivating the hallowed ground of the great quartet tradition, while challenging its established order and pushing the traditional boundaries of the form.

In Vilnius O/Modernt String Quartet team up with Evelyn Glennie, a Scottish percussionist mesmerising the audiences with her transfixing ideas. She has collaborated with many major symphony orchestras in Europe and the USA, Japanese Kodo drummers, the celebrated pop star Björk, Java gamelan ensemble, Brazilian samba groups, etc. The percussionist says that she collects the sounds from around the globe and owns a musical instrument collection consisting of more than 1300 items including household articles and even exhaust pipes. She also composes music for film and TV. Tonight the musicians offer original approach to extraordinarily wide music panorama – from Purcell to 21st century composers.

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: