Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Salutary Love

Salutary Love

Opening of the festival
2017 November 11, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
(artistic director and principal conductor Modestas Pitrėnas)
Soloist MŪZA RUBACKYTĖ (piano)
Salutary Love

RICHARD WAGNER – Overture to the opera Tannhäuser
FRANZ SCHUBERT–FERENC LISZT – Wanderer fantasy for piano and orchestra
HECTOR BERLIOZ – Symphonie Fantastique in C major, Op. 14

This autumn the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society welcomes piano music connoisseurs to the fifth edition of the Vilnius Piano Festival initiated in 2009 by pianist prof. Mūza Rubackytė. In 2009, this festival interwove with the celebration of the millennium of the mention of the name of Lithuania; in 2011, the festival was dedicated to the oeuvre of Hungarian composer Ferenc Liszt and the death centenary of the Lithuanian composer and artist Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis; in 2013, having become a cherished tradition, the event presented concert series Inspired by the Muses and marked the 80th anniversary of Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki; in 2015, the festival’s intriguing theme Tandems offered seven piano tournaments.

This year the festival revolves around the idea of an artistic meeting of pianists, collaboration between composer and performer, composer and master of his transcriptions, teacher and disciple. It is the partnership in music, which encourages both blossoming of new talents and emergence of new music masterpieces.

The opening concert of the festival presents Mūza Rubackytė, the Lithuanian piano Maestra, and Renato Balsadonna, an Italian Maestro of the baton and conductor at the Royal Opera House in London. The programme Salutary Love features three romantic masterpieces narrating about one of the noblest feelings. Wagner’s monumental overture to the opera Tannhäuser, which Liszt named program symphony, speaks about eternal dilemma of earthly and heavenly (salutary) love. While in his program symphony French composer Berlioz transforms this theme into a dangerous and all-round destructing love of an artist. Schubert’s Wanderer Fantasy enraptured Hungarian composer Liszt to such a degree that he arranged it for piano and orchestra. This music conveys perpetual quest and destiny of a wanderer, while love here is embodied in a yearning and peace, an aspiration to stop, rest and return to a remote native land. Receiving its Lithuania premiere this version of Schubert’s opus is reminiscent of a piano concerto.

Ticket prices
10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: