Back to home page   What's on   All events   Archive  
Vilnius String Quartet and Andrius Žlabys

Vilnius String Quartet and Andrius Žlabys

2017 October 25, Wednesday, 19.00
Franz Schubert Andrius Žlabys César Franck , Vilnius
Vilnius String Quartet and Andrius Žlabys

FRANZ SCHUBERT – String quartet N. 13 in A minor, D. 804 (Rosamunde)
ANDRIUS ŽLABYS Movement for string quartet and piano. Dedicated to victims of war in Ukraine (Lithuanian premiere)
CÉSAR FRANCK Piano quintet in F minor, Op. 14

Vilnius String Quartet regularly brings intriguing creative ideas: tonight the strings and the piano interweave in Schubert and Franck and also in pianist Andrius Žlabys’ opus Movement for string quartet and piano which is dedicated to the memory of the victims of the war in the Ukraine.

Vilnius String Quartet has collaborated with Andrius Žlabys many times. The graduate of prestigious Curtis Music Institute (USA) has received international acclaim for his appearances with many of the world’s leading orchestras, including The New York Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Philharmonic Orchestra of Buenos Aires as well as many illustrious soloists. The pianist’s “extraordinary refinement and artistry” (The New York Sun) ushered him into the world’s leading stages: Avery Fisher Hall and Carnegie Hall (New York), Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), Teatro Colón (Buenos Aires), Wigmore Hall (London), Musikverein (Vienna) and Suntory Hall (Tokyo).

Schubert composed his String quartet No 13 in A minor (Rosamunde) in 1824 as he did the monumental String quartet No 14 Der Tod und das Mädchen (Death and the Maiden). It is the second movement of the String quartet No 13, which has lent the opus its nickname, being based on a theme from the incidental music for Helmina von Shézy’sRosamunde composed a year ago. Franck’s Piano quintet in F minor, Op. 14 is his late work the lyricism of which was inspired by genuine love for nature. The opus reveals philosophical depth, which goes along with the balanced emotional and rational element as well as subtle taste and enchantment characteristic to French music.

Ticket prices
7, 10, 15, 20 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: