Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Not a Single Day Without Music!

Not a Single Day Without Music!

To mark the centenary of composer Leonard Bernstein. To mark the centenary of the re-establishment of Lithuanian statehood
2018 March 17, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Not a Single Day Without Music!

LEONARD BERNSTEIN – Overture to the musical Candide
VYTAUTAS GERMANAVIČIUS – Trilogy of Horizontal Flow for violin and orchestra (premiere)
LEONARD BERNSTEIN – West Side Story Suite

“I can’t live one day without hearing music, playing it, studying it, or thinking about it”, once said Leonard Bernstein, an American conductor and composer of musicals among other opuses. Thus, every meeting with music summons up these words of the composer. And in particular tonight, because this symphonic music concert is special for two reasons: maestro Modestas Pitrėnas and his collective celebrate Bernstein’s birth centenary, thus the programme features cheerful fragments from his musicals Candide and West Side Story. And in addition, the programme presents a premiere. Trilogy of Horizontal Flow for violin and orchestra by Lithuanian composer Vytautas Germanavičius, a recipient of the Lithuanian Composers’ Union annual best composition competition award for “the intensity of musical expression” (for Underwater Geometry for saxophone and orchestra, 2016). In his new opus the composer stays faithful to his creative aesthetics and also marks the occasion of Centennial of the Restoration of the State of Lithuania. Thus, it is not by accident that the movement titles are symbolic: the first movement Angelus Oculus (The Angel’s Eye) symbolises the birth of the state, the second is Stella Polaris (The Polar Star), and the third Reflexio (Reflection) – is a historical memory reflecting on the state’s ancient symbols in the postmodern epoch. Tonight the solo violin part will be performed by Lithuanian violinist Ingrida Armonaitė, who has premiered a row of opuses by Lithuanian composers; Saulius Astrauskas will perform the orchestral percussion solo. 

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: