Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Music contemplation hour

Music contemplation hour

2017 April 9, Sunday, 16.00
Vilnius Cathedral, (Katedros sq. 1), Vilnius
Music contemplation hour

JOSEPH HAYDN – Die Sieben letzten Worte unseres Erlösers am Kreuze (The Seven Last Words of our Savior on the Cross), the texts from Vytautas Antanas Dambrava’s book Seven Words.

Traditionally at this time of the year, Vilnius String Quartet invites to submerge in contemplation and experience the mystery of the Holy Week at the Vilnius Cathedral accompanied by Haydn’s music and texts from Vytautas Antanas Dambrava’ Seven Words. Haydn composed Die Sieben Letzten Worte Unseres Erlosers Am Kreuze in 1785 for the Good Friday service. The work had to involve seven movements, interchanged with the bishop’s sermon announcing and commenting on Christ’s last words. Music was supposed to strengthen the emotional effect of each of the seven “words”. This is how the Haydn’s opus, seven sonatas for orchestra with an introduction and a finale, was born. Before long, Haydn transcribed the work for string quartet. Almost simultaneously, a transcription for piano was published. Ten years later the composer rewrote it as oratorio for soloists, choir and orchestra. 


Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: