Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Juvenescence of Music of the World

Juvenescence of Music of the World

2018 October 14, Sunday, 12.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Artistic director and conductor VILMANTAS KALIŪNAS
Juvenescence of Music of the World

CARL MARIA VON WEBER – Overture to the opera The Marksman (“Der Freischütz“)
WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Concerto for oboe and orchestra in C major, KV 314
JOHANNES BRAHMS – Poco allegretto (3rd mvt.) from the Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90
ARTŪRAS MIKOLIŪNAS – Symphonic piece By the Watermill (“Prie vandens malūno”)

The Saarland Youth Symphony Orchestra (Landes Jugend Symphonie Orchester Saar) was formed in 1982. Its members meet twice a year (during spring and autumn breaks), put a new programme, give concerts and tour. The objective of the Orchestra is to provide young talented musicians with opportunity to gather stage experience, develop musical skills and mastery. This autumn the Youth Orchestra tours Baltic countries with performances in Mažeikiai, Pärnu, Tallinn, Cēsis, Kaunas and Vilnius. Upon the Orchestra’s return to Germany it will give three more concerts.

Tonight’s soloist sixteen-year-old oboist Pijus Paškevičius is a winner of a number of international competitions. As a soloist he has appeared with Lithuanian, St.Christopher, Klaipėda and Kaliningrad Philharmonic chamber orchestras, Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra and Swiss ensemble Esperanza; collaborated with notable conductors such as David Geringas, Olivier Grangean, Juozas Domarkas, Robertas Šervenikas and Modestas Barkauskas. Pijus’ repertoire includes works by J. S. Bach, A. Vivaldi, T. Albinoni, D. Cimarosa, A. Marcello, W. A. Mozart, R. Schumann, C. Saint-Saëns, F. Poulenc and other composers. 

Conductor Vilmantas Kaliūnas studied oboe and conducting in Lithuania and Germany. He has appeared with Berlin Sinfonietta, Thuringian and Jena philharmonic orchestras (Germany), the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken-Kaiserslautern Orchestra, Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, Pazardzhik Symphony Orchestra (Bulgaria) and Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra. The conductor works with young performers, initiates various unorthodox musical projects, and collaborates with Rheinland-Pfalz and Saarland youth orchestras.

Ticket prices
4, 6, 8, 10 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: