Back to home page   What's on   All events  
Romantic Afternoon

Romantic Afternoon

2019 March 31, Sunday, 16.00
Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Vilnius
Romantic Afternoon

FRANZ SCHUBERT – Sonate Arpeggione for cello and piano, D. 821
FRANZ SCHUBERT–FERENC LISZT – Margaret Spinning WheelThe Miller and the Brook
FRANZ SCHUBERT – Two Impromptu from Four impromptu, op. 90: Ges-dur, As-dur
CÉSAR FRANCK – Sonate for cello and pianoi A-dur

Cellist Ramutė Kalnėnaitė and pianist Leonid Dorfman’s programme features works by early and late romanticists.

An illustrious cello pedagogue Kalnėnaitė’s repertoire embraces music by representatives of various epochs from Antonín Dvořák to Astor Piazzolla and contemporary composers. The cellist performed around Europe and USA, appeared as a soloist with the Lithuanian National, Latvian and the LNOBT symphony orchestras, Lithuanian and Klaipėda chamber orchestras, Tashkent Conservatoire Chamber Orchestra as well as the National M.K. Čiurlionis School of Art string and symphony orchestras. Kalnėnaitė has collaborated with notable chamber musicians, taken part in various festivals such as Thomas Mann, Alternatyva, Christopher Summer, Prague International Summer Festival, Olympus musicus, etc. A long-time pedagogue at the National M.K. Čiurlionis School of Art she has educated a number of winners of national and international competitions.

Born in Vilnius, Leonid Dorfman has resided in Germany for over 20 years. However, he regularly returns to Lithuania. A graduate of the National M.K. Čiurlionis School of Art, he has honed his skills as a soloist, chamber musician and lied accompanist in Germany and Austria. Dorfman has taken part in Germany’s major classical music events such Kissinger Sommer (Bad Kissingen), Mendelssohn-Tage (Koblenz), Schleswig-Holstein festival. He gave recitals in Alte Oper (Frankfurt am Main), Hamburger Musikhalle as well as Schloss Elmau festival. The pianist has appeared as a soloist with Budapest, Plovdiv, Minsk and Frankfurt symphony orchestras, Sopot, Kaunas and Klaipėda chamber orchestras.  

Ticket prices
5, 7 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: