Back to home page   What's on   All events  
For Three

For Three

2018 October 13, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
(artistic director and principal conductor Modestas Pitrėnas)
Soloists – FORTVIO Trio:

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Triple Concerto for violin, cello and piano in C major, Op. 56
DMITRY SHOSTAKOVICH – Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47

Tonight the podium of the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra is graced by Zhang Guoyong, a baton Maestro from China, graduate of the conservatories in Shanghai and Moscow (in Moscow he was a disciple of the legendary Gennady Rozhdestvensky). Currently, Maestro is the artistic director of Shanghai Opera House (the main orchestra in Shanghai) and a professor and head of Conducting Department at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. He enjoys invitations to lead orchestras around the world. At the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall he collaborates with the vibrant Lithuanian trio FortVio. Formed in 2006, the ensemble before long became a fixture of the Lithuanian music scene; in 2015, the trio was awarded the Government’s Culture and Art Prize of the Republic of Lithuania.

Tonight’s programme features Beethoven’s Triple Concerto composed in 1804 when the composer was threading his way into romanticist vocabulary. At the time he produced six symphonies (No 3–8), five quartets (No 7–11), three piano concertos (No 3–5), Violin Concerto, several most popular sonatas (Moonlight, Waldstein and Appassionata for piano, Kreizer for violin), his only opera Fidelio. Perchance that is why the Triple Concerto, written at the beginning of this period, stays in the shadow of Beethoven’s most known Forth and Fifth piano concertos and Violin Concerto.

The LNSO also presents the Fifth Symphony by the 20th c. Russian composer Shostakovich. “The main theme of my symphony is a formation of a personality. I wanted to portray a man of lyric nature going through different experiences” the composer described his opus written in 1937. The premiere was a huge success and received rave reviews. Novelist Alexei Tolstoy wrote: ”The audience responded enthusiastically to Shostakovich’s indestructible optimism… We are the witnesses of realistic and great art of this epoch…” 

Ticket prices
10, 15, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: