...per la Grand Viola

2016 October 26, Wednesday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
...per la Grand Viola

LUIGI BOCCHERINI – Symphony, Op. 35 No. 4 in F major, G. 512
NICCOLÒ PAGANINI – Sonata per la Grand Viola
GIOACCHINO ROSSINI – Sonata for strings No. 3 in C major
BENJAMIN BRITTEN – Simple Symphony, Op. 4 
DAVID SHORT – Fantasia on the Themes from the Italian film music for viola and orchestra

Ūla Ulijona Žebriūnaitė, the violist performing around the world, the soloist with the Kremerata Baltica led by Gidon Kremer, the principal viola of the RAI National Symphony Orchestra (Turin, Italy) is a rare guest on the Lithuanian concert scene. Therefore, her appearance with the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall is a special treat for all admirers of her talent. Together with the LCO the violist performs temperamental and picturesque opuses – Niccolò Paganini’s Sonata per la Grand Viola (she has performed the piece with the LCO under the baton of late Saulius Sondeckis) as well as David Short’s Fantasia on the Themes from the Italian film music for viola and orchestra.

As a soloist the violist has collaborated with such orchestras as Moscow Soloists and Kremerata Baltica, London Philharmonic, Boston, Kanazawa and Winterthur symphony orchestras, as a soloist and member of various collectives she appeared in Vienna’s “Konzerthaus” and “Musikverein”, Salzburg’s “Mozarteum”, Milan’s “La Scala”, Amsterdam’s “Concertgebouw”, London’s “Royal Albert Hall” and “BBC Proms”, Boston’s “Symphony Hall”, New York’s “Carnegie Hall”, Tokyo’s “Suntory Hall” and Seoul’s “Art Center Concert Hall” among others. A regular participant of Kronberg Festival (Germany) Žebriūnaitė also appeared in Lockenhaus, Gstaad, Verbier, Aspen and other festivals. The violist is a member of Salon Orchester and recently formed EST String Trio. Since 2015, she has been on a faculty in Turin Conservatory “Giuseppe Verdi” and Music Institute “V. Baravalle” in Fossano. She plays the viola made in Venice in 1722 by Italian master Matteo Goffriller. Back from impressive summer tours in Luxembourg, Spain, Switzerland, Slovenia and Poland the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra also programs the opuses by Luigi Boccherini, Gioacchino Rossini and Benjamin Britten. Tonight’s performers are being led by Robertas Šervenikas. 

Ticket prices
10, 14, 20, 30 Eur

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66
E-mail: info@filharmonija.lt

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: