Treasury of the Orchestra

2015 October 17, Saturday, 19.00
Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius
Soloist GUODA GEDVILAITĖ (piano)

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Overture Zur Namensfeier, Op. 115
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN – Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
BOHUSLAV MARTINŮ – Symphony No. 4, H. 305

The Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra carries on with a nice tradition of inviting music connoisseurs to indulge in music from Treasury of the Orchestra. Tonight’s programme features works by Beethoven, a Viennese classicist, and Martinů, one of the foremost Czech composers of the 20th century. Projecting the atmosphere of the beginning of the 19th century Beethoven’s music masterfully combines the lucid sonority characteristic of works by Mozart and Haydn, classicist virtuosity and lyrical romanticist aesthetics. Martinů worked on his Symphony, a reflection of controversial post-war ambience, in New York in spring of 1945. The opus embraces tragic element of the WWII and joy of Schubert-like lyricism Martinů experienced at the end of the war.

Led by Juozas Domarkas, the honorary conductor of the LNSO, the Orchestra shares the stage with Guoda Gedvilaitė, a Lithuanian pianist residing in Germany.

Ticket prices
7, 10, 14, 20 Eur (24,17; 34,53; 48,34; 69,06 Lt)

Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: