Back to home page   News   News Archive  
The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra invites to a symposium on the theme of love

The Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra invites to a symposium on the theme of love


To warm up the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society’s 77th concert season the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra and its artistic director and violinist Sergej Krylov offer a musical feast. Serenades, spirited motives, harp’s exhilarating passages and percussion’s passionate rhythms will enrapture the audience. Everything will be crowned by Plato’s Symposium, a dialogue of related statements in praise of love. So, on October 7th the LCO, Sergej Krylov, harpist Joana Daunytė and Giunter Percussion will hold a true symposium on the theme of love.

The concert will open with Mozart’s Serenade for orchestra No 6 in D major (Serenata notturna). Serenades most often were commissioned by nobility for receptions, open-air public events, weddings and birthdays as well as concerts in friends and patrons’ houses. Eine kleine Nachtmusik, KV 525is Mozart’s most popular serenade, however Serenade for orchestra No 6, composed in January 1776 in Salzburg, enjoys as great popularity. This short, solemn, graceful and uplifting opus will be a wonderful accent to the opening of the Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra’s concert season.   

The LCO will follow with yet another of their favourite Viennese classicists –  Haydn. Symphony No 59 in A major, Hob. I:59 was nicknamed Feuersinfonie (Fire Symphony). To ‘baptise’ the music compositions was common practise at the time, however this was done by the composers’ friends or listeners. Later the Symphony was part of the production of Gustav Friedrich Wilhelm Großmann’s drama Feuersbrunst (The Fire) at the Esterházy palace. Perhaps this brought about the nickname. In any case, the energetic, vibrant and fiery first movement is written in Presto tempo, an unusual tempo for the opening movement of a symphonic cycle, and slightly evokes Vivaldi’s style.

After intermission the musicians will offer Bernstein’s Serenade for violin, strings, harp and percussion, an opus, which is very rarely performed in Lithuania. Commissioned by the Koussevitzky Foundation in 1954, the Serenade was premiered in Venice with Bernstein himself on the podium. Serenade is a five-movement concerto with the violin the most prominent solo instrument. The work can therefore be considered a violin concerto.  For the Serenade the composer drew inspiration from Plato’s Symposium, a dialogue of related statements in praise of love. Bernstein wrote, that even though the Serenade does not have a literary program, it was inspired by Plato’s incredible dialogues extoling love. Albeit there is no continuous thematic substance uniting the composition, each movement exploits the elements of presented themes.

            For the aforementioned opus the LCO will share the stage with violinist Sergej Krylov, the collective’s artistic director rarely performing together with the LCO in Lithuania. The performing forces will also include the renowned Giunter Percussion and Joana Daunytė, one of today’s leading Lithuanian harpists. In addition to pursuing active performing career, she teaches the harp at the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre (since 2016) and seeks Doctoral degree at the LAMT (since 2017).

The Orchestral Music Series concert Serenata notturna will take place on Saturday 7th October, 19.00 at the Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall.

LNPh inf.


Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: