Back to home page   News   News Archive  
A concert following the scenario by Chausson, Wieniawski and Duruflé

A concert following the scenario by Chausson, Wieniawski and Duruflé


On November 22nd, the orchestral series of the National Philharmonic Hall presents romantic works for violin and orchestra by Ernest Chausson and Henryk Wieniawski and the famous Requiem by Maurice Duruflé. Featured in this programme are the Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra under maestro Juozas Domarkas, the Kaunas State Choir and three young and promising soloists – Diana Galvydytė (violin), Jovita Vaškevičiūtė (mezzo-soprano) and Dainius Stumbras (baritone).

This concert programme might be symbolically titled the ‘French programme’ as all three composers represent the French school of composition. Nevertheless, as they all were outstanding personalities, each one sought to develop a unique creative style. Ernest Chausson (1855–1899), a representative of French romanticism, is most appreciated for his vocal and chamber works. His music is often referred to as “sadness for joy.” Polish musician Henryk Wieniawski (1835–1880) graduated the violin and composition classes at the Conservatoire de Paris and was frequently named the “Chopin of the violin.” In his works, he pursued to implement the characteristics of Polish national instrumental style. He has made a significant contribution to the violin repertoire with his virtuoso works. Maurice Duruflé (1902–1986) graduated the organ and composition classes at the Conservatoire de Paris and soon became famous as the organ virtuoso. As a composer, he set himself high aesthetic standards; therefore, his creative heritage is not so plentiful. The composer earned most recognition for his piece Requiem, which is included in the concert programme.

The first part of the concert is dedicated to the dialogue between the violin and the orchestra that should develop in accordance with the scenario suggested by Chausson’s and Wieniawski’s works. The audience will hear Chausson’s Poème for Violin and Orchestra in E flat major, Op. 25, and Wieniawski’s Fantaisie brillante on the themes from Charles Gounod’s Faust, Op.20.

Violin solo will be played by Diana Galvydytė – one of the best-known Lithuanian violin players of the young generation, who is currently enjoying success in building her international career and is to return to Lithuania from Great Britain for this special occasion. Galvydytė studied at the M.K.Čiurlionis National School of Art in Vilnius and at the Yehudi Menuhin School in London. In 2003, she commenced her studies at the Royal College of Music, with Prof. Natalia Boyarskaya. The violinist received awards from 15 international competitions and has performed with numerous Lithuanian and foreign orchestras. She has given concerts in the UK, Holland, Austria, Canada and Lithuania, as well as recitals at major concert halls, such as Cadogan Hall, Wigmore Hall, Chamber Hall of the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Theater Diligentia in the Hague and Konzerthaus in Vienna.

A large number of performers will gather in the second part of the concert to perform Duruflé’s Requiem. The most important part here is performed by the choir. According to the author, Requiem is based on the themes of Gregorian chants of the Requiem mass. In some places the text was left without orchestral inserts, as the orchestra here mainly assumes an auxiliary role, or is merely commenting on the events. The musical structure of the Requiem parts was determined by the liturgical forms. The organ that represents peace, faith and hope is also woven into the musical texture. In this piece, the organ is not accompanying the choir, but rather emphasises certain accents or defuses an ‘overly human’ sounding of the orchestra.

Duruflé’s Requiem has been performed in Lithuania before, but this time it will be interpreted by the Kaunas State Choir (artistic director Petras Bingelis) and the National Symphony Orchestra (with Renata Marcinkutė on the organ) under maestro Juozas Domarkas. The soloing singers – Jovita Vaškevičiūtė and Dainius Stumbras – are the winners of the “Opera Hope of the Year” nomination at the annual Beacons of Opera Awards, presented by the Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre.


Lithuanian National Philharmonic Society

Address: Aušros vartų st. 5, LT-01304 Vilnius, Lietuva
Contact: tel. +370 5 266 52 10, fax. +370 5 266 52 66

Company details  Privacy policy Copyright statement

Newsletter subscription

Be the first one to receive our news! Enter your e-mail address: